|Title||Deadly Genius - Cabinet Alchemist|
|Nation||Gesselheim / Abara|
First featured in Devastation of Indines.
- "Something about you seems familiar, Homunculus. I can't put my finger on it." / "You remind me of someone as well." - Kehrolyn
- "Is this all that I am? A construct created to serve? I must have a greater future, and perhaps a greater past as well."
- "A legendary healer makes an excellent lab assistant. I save so much time hunting rats."
- "Who was I before? Tell me Hepzibah--so help me if you don't, we both know you can't bring yourself back to life!"
- "When I look in the mirror, I see something so ghastly and unfamiliar..."
- "You're... you're a ghost!" / "You're a ghost too, silly. You're just stuck inside of that puppet." - Tanis Trilives
- "Let's see what's behind door number 2..."
- "You're just playing deeper and deeper into my plan..."
Several months ago in the northern nation of Willat, Doctor Aaron Ross was assassinated by the Magisterial Council for violating sanctions against his research into artificial life. Widely recognized as one of the most brilliant scientists of the age, Ross had created a homunculus called August–a being of such fantastic power that it took an entire battalion to destroy it. August's 'sister', Kehrolyn, and Ross's lab assistant, Lixis, barely escaped the assassination and the destruction of their home with their lives. In Gesselheim, with the overlord newly resurrected, Hepzibah turned back to her experiments, in search of newer and more difficult resurrections to attempt. Hearing news of Ross's death, she wondered if it might be possible to bring back the spirit of that genius, and carve it upon a blank slate, creating a brilliant alchemist to serve her new nation. Superficially, the spell worked, and Malandrax was created. Possessing all the ingenuity and wit of doctor Ross, without the sentimental attachment to his past life or nation. However, subtle things seem to be going wrong--memories that shouldn't have returned seem to be seeping through the veil, along with darker whispers from the afterworld. Will these remind Malandrax of his past, or simply drive him mad?
Personality: Ingenious, Obsessive, Curious, Paranoid, Schizophrenic
Personal Possessions: Personal Atelier (the bag on his back, containing tools and chemicals)
Likes: Research, Snow, Homunculi, Rare Trinkets, philosophy books
Dislikes: Caves, Ghosts, Fire
The quintessential mad scientist, Malandrax wears long robes and small glasses, and is rarely seen without some new contraption or solution in his hands.
Powers & Abilities
Malandrax is an inventor and a scientist - he builds traps and creates alchemical solutions which he can use to weaken and hurt his opponents.
- Created by -> Hepzibah
- Has soul of -> Aaron Ross
Game appearances and playstyle
- Malandrax focuses heavily on prediction and silent threatening through the use of traps that he can field to condition the opponent's moves.
- Malandrax's Striker card relies on successful prediction to damage his opponent.
- That odd mad scientist guy who shows up to the party but no one will admit to having invited. All his attacks have X printed on the back, obscuring their actual damage.
Character Kit in BattleCon
|Ability Name||Character Version||Description|
Malandrax has 4 Trap Cards. During the ante phase of each beat, he may select and place one of these traps face-down. When an opponent fulfills the condition on the trap's trigger, Malandrax may activate the trap immediately and perform its effects, interrupting any other effect. Malandrax can always choose not to activate a trap, even when its trigger is fulfilled.
All Trap Cards return to Malandrax at the end of each beat.
Note: Malandrax's traps only target a single opponent. If multiple opponents fulfill a trap's trigger, he must choose which one will be affected.
|Deadly Genius||Alternate Art||
Malandrax has 4 Trap Cards. During the ante phase of each beat, he may select and place one of these traps face-down and apply it to an opponent. When Malandrax fulfills the condition on the trap's trigger, the trap activates immediately and its effect occur, targeting the specific opponent.
All Traps return to Malandrax at the end of each beat.
Note: For example, if Malandrax sets his Alarm Trap on an opponent, whenever he ends a movement adjacent to that opponent, he activates the trap and retreats any number of spaces. The trigger is reversed to target him instead of opponents, but the effects still target the same as normal.
|You Just Activated My Trap Card!||EX||Malandrax has 4 Trap Cards. During the ante phase of each beat, he may select and place one of these traps face-down. When an opponent fulfills the condition on the trap's trigger, Malandrax may activate the Trap Card immediately and perform its effects, interrupting any other effect. The opponent also loses 2 life and Malandrax gains +1 Power. Malandrax may choose not to activate a trap, even when its trigger is fulfilled.
All Trap Cards return to Malandrax at the end of each beat, regardless of any other game effects.
Note:Malandrax's traps only target a single opponent. If multiple opponents fulfill a trap's trigger, he must choose which one will be affected.
|Just as Planned||Almighty||Malandrax has 4 Trap Cards. During the ante phase of each beat, he may select and place one of these traps face-down. When an opponent fulfills the condition on the trap's trigger, Malandrax may activate the Trap Card immediately and perform its effects, interrupting any other effect. In addition, the opponent loses 2 life and Malandrax has +2 Power during this beat. Malandrax may choose not to activate a trap, even when its trigger is fulfilled.
All Trap Cards return to Malandrax at the end of each beat, regardless of any other game effects.
Note: Malandrax’s traps only target a single opponent. If multiple opponents fulfill a trap's trigger, he must choose which one will be affected.
Personal Styles and Bases
|Alarm Trap||When an opponent moves adjacent to you.||Retreat any number of spaces, and opponents at range 3 or greater cannot hit you during this beat.|
|Electroshock Trap||When an opponent moves into the center of the game board.||You have +2 Power and the opponent has -2 Power for the rest of the beat.|
|Smasher Trap||After an opponent activates his attack (and all After Activating triggers), if that opponent has not moved during this beat.||The opponent takes 2 damage.|
|Wall Spike Trap||When an opponent moves to an edge of the board.||The opponent loses 2 life.|
Unofficial Rule FAQs
- Q: Do only revealed traps get returned at the end of the beat?
- A: No, both revealed and unrevealed traps are returned to Malandrax. (Official FAQ)
- Q: Can a trap be set off multiple times during a beat?
- A: A trap can only be used one time during a beat. (Official FAQ)
- Q: What happens with Malandrax's trap if Pulse is played?
- A: If Pulse is used, Malandrax does not get his traps back at the end of the beat. Meaning he is able to ante another one the next beat and will subsequently have 1 additiona* trap active. (Official FAQ)
- Q: Does a trap activate when you move through the triggering space, or only if you end a movement on that space?
- A: The moment you step on a triggering space, the trap is sprung, even if moving through. (Official FAQ)
- Q: Can you use a Pulse special action to activate traps?
- A: No, rearranging the board does not count as a movement effect. That means that no traps can be activated during a Pulse. (Official FAQ)
- Q: Does Precision's passive effect count as a movement effect and can subsequently be ignored if the opponent is able to ignore movement effect applied to him by the opponent?
- A: No. It's not a movement effect (see "movement effects"). So if the opponent would move under his own effect, Malandrax would be able to control it freely. (Official FAQ)
- Q: Precision reads "When the nearest opponent moves, ...". Does that mean that opponents have to declare a movement that makes them move before Malandrax gets to control it?
- A: No. Malandrax controls the movement effect as a whole when the opponent activates a movement effect that moves them. It should read "When the nearest opponent would move, you control all decisions for that effect". (Official FAQ)
- The opponent cannot decide to change their movement after an alarm is revealed (not definitive).
An opponent who hits you during this beat loses 5 life. If none does, you lose 3 life.
|Laser Trap||Ante||An opponent who plays or played a Striker during this beat loses 3 life.|
|Enervation Trap||Boost||End of Beat: All opponents adjacent to you lose 4 life.|
|"...no, I expect you to die!"|
Pixel Tactics Unit
|Sinister Sabotage Squad|
|Appears in: Pixel Tactics 2||STR||LIFE|
|Leader||When any other player plays an Order, you may discard a card. If you do, cancel the Order. Otherwise, you may draw a card.|
|Vanguard||+3 Attack Strength if an order was played during this wave.|
|Flank||Attack: Reveal an Order from your hand and perform its effect. Then defeat this hero.|
|Rear||After the first Order in a wave is played by any player, no more Orders may be played during the wave.|
|Order||Keep this order in play for the rest of the round. Other players cannot play orders.|
|After your turn, choose a piece of terrain within 1 card length of this disc. All other discs within 1 card length of the terrain take 1 damage.|
Seven Card Slugfest
This card shows "X" on the back
|The Vilanous||0||This card shows "X" on the back|
|The Imaginary||1||This card shows "X" on the back|
|The Original||2||This card shows "X" on the back|
|The Uncanny||2||This card shows "X" on the back|
|The Authentic||3||This card shows "X" on the back|
|The Outlier||4||This card shows "X" on the back|